Topic Sponsor
Texas Don't mess with us!

Need Help Picking a New Truck in TX

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2016, 09:38 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Need Help Picking a New Truck in TX

Hi all,

I'm new here and I'm just getting started going through all the threads. I'm real glad I found this site!!!

I am about to purchase my next truck and have been struggling on what to choose. I'm not rich but I cant afford to pick the wrong truck for what I need it to do.

I'm a ham radio operator and from time to time I need to carry a communications shelter in the way you see it in the picture. Fully loaded it should weigh around 2k lb give or take a few lb's. I will not have it permanently mounted and will only carry it on exercises, camping trips and deployments with my radio group for emergency communication needs. I will also pull a small trailer.

I have seen demos of F150's hauling up to 3000lb and if that is true this shelter should be no problem. These pictures are of the shelter and how others carry theirs on 3/4 and 1 ton pickups.

I have been struggling between choosing the F250 vs the F150 and I am realizing I know so little even though I have owned 150s most my life when it comes to carrying heavy loads.

Its hard for me to sacrifice gas mileage since this truck will take me to work every day and the gas mileage is important. Of course everyone around me says go 250 Diesel but I just cant seem to justify it and the extra expense in diesel and maintenance as well as base price of the vehicle is leading me towards the F150.

I am reading threads but I need to make sure I get to the basics of hauling heavy loads so I need advice on Engines. I'm leaning V8.

Suspension advice and I'm looking into the Torklift International product and not air bags.

I'm not sure if I need a 4x2 or 4x4. Again trying to keep things as simple as possible. If I don't need it I don't want it. However would a 4x4 have a stronger suspension and drive train?