Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Tune-Up / gas mileage question

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2015, 10:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tune-Up / gas mileage question

I have a 2007 F-150 Lariat super cab 5.4 liter that I bought new. At 125000 miles I started getting the famous 50mph in/out of OD shudder. After finding this forum and doing some searches, I figure I have the typical COP problem. Took the truck to the dealer (I freely admit I am no mechanic) after checking the truck they call and tell me I need two coils, #s 5 & 7, and new plugs (still had original plugs) and a fuel injection flush. That was what I was expecting and say go ahead. A day and almost a $1000 later I get the truck back and go on my normal, mostly highway 150 mile circuit. This is where the problem starts. I typically get about 16.5 to 16.8 mpg on the highway, about 14 in mostly city driving. After my thousand dollar tune up, the computer shows 13.3 on the highway. I am thinking my computer is off. I check it by mileage and gas used and it comes to just under 13 mpg overall. Next day truck goes back to dealer. Service tech that does the write up tells me that there is nothing they can do for mileage issues, the computer does all the tuning and the truck is fine. I tell him it has dropped over 3 mpg after you guys fixed it. Something is not right, I am leaving it, call me when it is ready to go. Next day I have a phone message the truck is ready. When I get to the service desk the rep tells me that one of the mechanics drove it for 150 miles over the time they had it, runs fine, checks out on computer, nothing more they can do. They tell me they made no adjustments to the truck at all. I take the truck on the same 150 mile circuit I drive every week, this time I get just over 19 mpg driving the same route that I got 13.3 on two days earlier.