Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Transmission Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2015, 08:32 AM

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Default Transmission Question

Okay, so let me first start off by saying this took place in my 04 XLT Supercab 2wd. I had my transmission replaced at 75k miles. There is now 153k miles on the truck. I am a volunteer firefighter, and this truck has done its fair share of hauling *** when the pager goes off. I don't get a chance to let the truck warm up when this happens for obvious reasons. But it was 65 degrees out and I have made runs way colder then that. So yesterday, as I always do, the pager went off and I fired the truck up and came out of my driveway. As soon as I went to put my foot in it the truck started to shutter violently and wouldn't shift into second. Cursing at the top of my lungs, I pulled out onto the main road and let pedal meet metal. As soon as I did that it shuttered but broke through and switched gears and then I was off like a rocket. After I got back from the call, no codes showed up on my edge and the check engine light was not on. I took the truck the long way home to test everything and it drove completely fine at all speeds. I even did a 0-60 and it was perfect. What happened?! Was this a one time thing? Maybe I wasn't in drive all the way because I was in a rush? I rely on my truck every day to help me do my job. I appreciate your input. Thanks.
Old 03-27-2015, 08:43 AM

Received 5,989 Likes on 3,553 Posts

Anyplace I've lived the volunteer firefighters (including myself many years ago) aren't supposed to "take off like a rocket", we can't exceed the speed limit.

You say it was 65. Any chance it was substantially colder just before that? Sometimes vehicles don't like the radical temp changes that we can get.
Old 03-27-2015, 08:52 AM

Originally Posted by Ricktwuhk