Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2004 - 2008 Ford F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2011, 09:09 PM   #1
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Suburban Washington DC
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Are tire pressure sensor bands reusable?

I'm getting a set of factory aluminum wheels to replace the steel ones on the truck. Will I have to buy new clamps for the TPMS sensors when I swap the sensors? Both wheels are 17".
atikovi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:55 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Erie PA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default wondering the same thing

Hi My name is Mike. I'm new here but I'm having the same problem and was wondering if this question was ever answered. I have an 07 F150 XL That came with the steel rims. They have these sensor on them. Not knowing about this, I bought a set of same sized allum rims, used, off the same year truck. They do not have the bands on them. Called one local tire shop and was told that the bands were crimped on and that they and the cradle holding the sensor would have to but cut and replaced all for $310? Does any know of a cheaper option?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Mikempl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 12:34 PM   #3
Black & Chrome
 
bonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: WV
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

The bands can't be reused, but the sensors can. I paid aprox. $33 a piece for new bands when I put my new rims on.
__________________
2007 Black F150 Lariat 4x4 Screw, 5.4 liter V8, 6.5' box...
RCX 6" Lift, 6" Lift Bilstein struts/shocks, 20x10 MotoMetal 951's, 35x12.50 Toyo Open Country M/T's, Bushwhacker Pocket Flares, Flowmaster Super 44 Exhaust, Rugged Cover Folding Tonneau Cover, Gryphon, Hood Scoop, K&N air filter, Python 580 2-way remote start, 20% tint
bonez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 12:41 PM   #4
Mark
5 Year Member
 
techrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Va. Beach, VA.
Posts: 17,716
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Thanked 392 Times in 344 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

All the replacement bands are ...is a big hose clamp that holds the sensor to the wheel there also may be some gule holding down the sensor it self mine did. Sensors get installed at 6 O'Clock from the stem. You can re-use the new bands...Ford bands have to be cut off.
__________________
08 FX4... Flowmaster Exhaust, line-X, Sky Jacker leveling kit. 295/65/20 Nitto trails mounted on 20 X 9 Carol Shelby wheels. AIRAID CAI. Harley headlamps and LED Tails & 3rd brake lights,custom upper and lower Grill. Edge Evolution. Interior/Exterior LED lighting, NFAB step bars.
techrep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 02:13 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Erie PA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonez View Post
The bands can't be reused, but the sensors can. I paid aprox. $33 a piece for new bands when I put my new rims on.
Thanks for the replies. Are the Ford Bands crimmped on? Where did you get your new ones? Dealer?

What about the "cradle" that the tire shop is telling me I also need to replace.

I've seen the hose clamp type that techrep mentioned. Are they as safe as the factory ones?

Found a kit on ebay, but not sure about buying something like this from ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/TPMS-...Q5fAccessories
Mikempl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 04:06 PM   #6
Black & Chrome
 
bonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: WV
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikempl View Post
Thanks for the replies. Are the Ford Bands crimmped on? Where did you get your new ones? Dealer?

What about the "cradle" that the tire shop is telling me I also need to replace.

I've seen the hose clamp type that techrep mentioned. Are they as safe as the factory ones?

Found a kit on ebay, but not sure about buying something like this from ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/TPMS-...Q5fAccessories
Yes, the ford bands are crimped on and have to be cut off, which is why you can't re-use them. I got my new ones from the shop that mounted my new tires/rims. They also transferred my old tpms sensors to my new setup. They used universal bands and everything I needed was included in that price. The hoseclamp style works just fine. I can't check out your link since I'm at work right now, but if it were me, I would just go to some local tire shops and ask them for a quote on what you need and then just buy it from them. This way you get everything you need and don't risk having to pay extra when you go get everything done and they say "well you need to buy ______ too."
__________________
2007 Black F150 Lariat 4x4 Screw, 5.4 liter V8, 6.5' box...
RCX 6" Lift, 6" Lift Bilstein struts/shocks, 20x10 MotoMetal 951's, 35x12.50 Toyo Open Country M/T's, Bushwhacker Pocket Flares, Flowmaster Super 44 Exhaust, Rugged Cover Folding Tonneau Cover, Gryphon, Hood Scoop, K&N air filter, Python 580 2-way remote start, 20% tint
bonez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 06:36 AM   #7
Mark
5 Year Member
 
techrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Va. Beach, VA.
Posts: 17,716
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Thanked 392 Times in 344 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikempl View Post
Thanks for the replies. Are the Ford Bands crimmped on? Where did you get your new ones? Dealer?

What about the "cradle" that the tire shop is telling me I also need to replace.

I've seen the hose clamp type that techrep mentioned. Are they as safe as the factory ones?

Found a kit on ebay, but not sure about buying something like this from ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/TPMS-...Q5fAccessories
Yes....thats what you want...great price...you won't need the cradle...the new bands will feed right through the old sensors.
__________________
08 FX4... Flowmaster Exhaust, line-X, Sky Jacker leveling kit. 295/65/20 Nitto trails mounted on 20 X 9 Carol Shelby wheels. AIRAID CAI. Harley headlamps and LED Tails & 3rd brake lights,custom upper and lower Grill. Edge Evolution. Interior/Exterior LED lighting, NFAB step bars.
techrep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 10:12 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Erie PA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Thank You

Thank you guys a ton. You've been a HUGE help. I'm so glad I found this forum.

1 more question though if I could:

Do the Ford bands have to be cut off to remove the sensor? If they don't, I was just going to leave the bands on the old rims and try to sell them for a few bucks locally. That way the next guy wouldn't have to go through this. I'm not sure how the sensor is attached though. I didn't look at it as well as I should have when the tire was off.
Mikempl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 12:10 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Nobman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Doing the right thing I installed TPMS onto my PIMP wheels... being 22" Ford did not have bands that large. So somebody told me that I could use some real large Zip ties.... WRONG... they did not last.. they became loose and the TPMS started to move around inside the wheels.. So I was always chasing a vibration. I just pulled the TPMS out of my wheels and the vibration is gone... But now I have a light on my dash.. but a little back tape and its gone.
__________________
2007 RegCab STX 4.2L Lowered 2-4 22" Boyd Wheels Foose Valance
Nobman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 12:41 PM   #10
Black & Chrome
 
bonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: WV
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikempl View Post
Thank you guys a ton. You've been a HUGE help. I'm so glad I found this forum.

1 more question though if I could:

Do the Ford bands have to be cut off to remove the sensor? If they don't, I was just going to leave the bands on the old rims and try to sell them for a few bucks locally. That way the next guy wouldn't have to go through this. I'm not sure how the sensor is attached though. I didn't look at it as well as I should have when the tire was off.

No...they will just remove the sensor and transfer, leaving the stock bands in place.
__________________
2007 Black F150 Lariat 4x4 Screw, 5.4 liter V8, 6.5' box...
RCX 6" Lift, 6" Lift Bilstein struts/shocks, 20x10 MotoMetal 951's, 35x12.50 Toyo Open Country M/T's, Bushwhacker Pocket Flares, Flowmaster Super 44 Exhaust, Rugged Cover Folding Tonneau Cover, Gryphon, Hood Scoop, K&N air filter, Python 580 2-way remote start, 20% tint
bonez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 12:41 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tire pressure sensor question? scruffyduck 2009 - Present Ford F150 14 08-16-2011 02:29 PM
Tire Pressure Monitoring Sensor(TPMS) lx4life General F150 Items 2 12-01-2010 09:45 PM
Tire Pressure sensor joelogan Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation 2 11-20-2010 10:39 PM
tire pressure monitor sensor HELP.. platinum10psl General F150 Discussion 17 11-07-2010 08:21 AM
Tire Pressure Sensor Fault 07browninglariat 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 4 04-15-2008 10:59 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.