Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2004 - 2008 Ford F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2012, 12:30 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Grand Junction, Colorado
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Speedometer/Programming Help

New Member here. Been lurking around a little while but just joined. Great info on this site.
I recently purchased a 2006 F150 XLT Super Crew. I'm very excited to have a Ford product again. I had a '96 Ranger 4x4 that I loved to death and sold with 230,000 miles.
I have an issue with my F150. I apologize in advance this might end up being a novel. After purchasing the F150, my family and I took a 1500 mile+ road trip. On this trip I noticed that I seemed to be going a lot slower than those around me, although according to my speedometer a lot of the time I was speeding . I grabbed my GPS and checked the speedometer. Sure enough the speedo was 10-12 mph fast. I stopped in at a dealership along the way and had them look into the issue. They reprogrammed the tire size to the size on the truck (275/70R18) but the speedo was still off. They sent me on my way free of charge and suggested that it might be the speedometer itself. Once home I took it to the local dealership and passed on the info from the dealer on the road. Here's their writeup:

"Verified customer concern, no codes in system, started with output shaft speed sensor, did not correct concern. Found PCM reading speed indicated and all wheel speed sensors reading actual speed. PCM keeps returning PCM programming to a 265/45-22 Wheel/Tire size, considerably smaller than actual size. Believed to be PCM not adjusting for tire size and misreading vehicle speed possibly because of programmer messing up PCM"

They wanted 1000 bucks to replace the whole PCM and I said no. What you see above took them a week to accomplish. In the meantime I have a scangauge II with the digital speedometer corrected 9% working ok. So here's my question: What can I do to try to correct this issue short of putting in a new PCM? I thought about using an aftermarket programmer to attempt to reprogram the PCM (I found an edge evolution for a good price locally).
Any help would be appreciated.
Here's a picture of the truck:
Click the image to open in full size.
toolshell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 01:19 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spanish Fort AL
Posts: 3,933
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Yea I would go the programmer route.
madeSICC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 06:53 AM   #3
Mark
5 Year Member
 
techrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Va. Beach, VA.
Posts: 17,915
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Thanked 407 Times in 357 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Buy a used Edge it will fix it right up...just like the first tech said it messed it up...
__________________
08 FX4... Flowmaster Exhaust, line-X, Sky Jacker leveling kit. 295/65/20 Nitto trails mounted on 20 X 9 Carol Shelby wheels. AIRAID CAI. Harley headlamps and LED Tails & 3rd brake lights,custom upper and lower Grill. Edge Evolution. Interior/Exterior LED lighting, NFAB step bars.
techrep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 09:29 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Treasure Island, FL
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Hmm...I would think if the Ford dealer couldn't get the programming to stick, an aftermarket programmer wouldn't work either?
Steved13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 12:41 PM   #5
Ford Service Advisor
 
Swegner99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bullhead City, AZ
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Did any of the dealers try to reflash your PCM? You can put a PCM back to factory original specs and its not hard to do, Ford has your "AS-BUILT" data stored and its can be forced back into the PCM. Sounds like the original owner had big wheels and tires and the speedometer was reprogrammed with a programmer. Took the wheels and tires off the truck and pulled the programmer out without resetting back to stock.
__________________
Ford Certified Service Advisor
Swegner99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 12:18 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Grand Junction, Colorado
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swegner99 View Post
Did any of the dealers try to reflash your PCM? You can put a PCM back to factory original specs and its not hard to do, Ford has your "AS-BUILT" data stored and its can be forced back into the PCM. Sounds like the original owner had big wheels and tires and the speedometer was reprogrammed with a programmer. Took the wheels and tires off the truck and pulled the programmer out without resetting back to stock.
No, neither one offered to re-flash. The local dealer just wanted to completely replace the PCM. I called the other dealership for a second opinion and they told me that they would only replace the PCM as a last resort, they were still sure it was the speedometer itself. I wasn't impressed. The local dealer kept the truck for over a week and just wanted to throw parts at it (a gambling habit financed with my pocketbook).
If I take it into another dealer and ask for a "re-flash" is it something they they would readily do, or do they need to run their diagnostic to see if they can justify it?
toolshell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 04:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Treasure Island, FL
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toolshell View Post
They reprogrammed the tire size to the size on the truck (275/70R18) but the speedo was still off.

Found PCM reading speed indicated and all wheel speed sensors reading actual speed. PCM keeps returning PCM programming to a 265/45-22 Wheel/Tire size, considerably smaller than actual size. Believed to be PCM not adjusting for tire size and misreading vehicle speed possibly because of programmer messing up PCM"

Doesn't this mean they tried re-flashing?
Steved13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 06:18 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Grand Junction, Colorado
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steved13 View Post
Doesn't this mean they tried re-flashing?
Is there a difference between a total reflash and just a tire size reprogramming?
toolshell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 10:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Treasure Island, FL
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I'm not sure with the dealer program. With my SCT it's part of the flash programming.
Steved13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 10:23 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.