Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Should I swap my engine? 2005 5.4L

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2015, 03:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I swap my engine? 2005 5.4L

So I'm having the cam phaser problem bad that's apparently super common with these engines and my engine is knocking badly when I come to a stop after the engine warms up and I have to rev the rpms in neutral to keep the engine from stalling out or stopping. It's crazy.

I'm not tech savvy at all when it comes to working on my truck. I've replaced engine coils, brakes, fixed some random speaker problems I've had, but when it comes to the inner workings of the engine I'm lost.

I'm in the Coast Guard and going to tech school at the moment so I don't have an abundance of time or money. My question is directed to more experienced people with these engines. Should I do an engine swap? I've looked into getting a cam phaser lockout kit like the one livernois sells but I heard that you lose a lot of top end power doing that. I don't really want that to happen in case I decide to get a boat and need the power to tow it or something.

Replacing the cam phasers I heard will just fix it temporarily and come back to haunt you later. What is the best fix for this? If it is to swap the engine what engine should I be looking at. Thank you for any help at all I really appreciate it.

Sorry for the wall of text .
Old 12-16-2015, 06:50 PM

Received 61 Likes on 58 Posts

Originally Posted by kbloom93
So I'm having the cam phaser problem bad that's apparently super common with these engines and my engine is knocking badly when I come to a stop after the engine warms up and I have to rev the rpms in neutral to keep the engine from stalling out or stopping. It's crazy.