Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Should heads be replaced or repaired?

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2016, 01:43 PM

Received 8 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Should heads be replaced or repaired?

Hi all, Im new to this s community and this is my first post.
So, I got an 04 F150 that had a timing guide broke. While I was in process of replacing the timing guides, tensioners, chains etc.., When I took the camshafts out to inspect I noticed that there is a lot of scratches on the cam bearings. My question is should I start replacing the heads along with camshafts or should I use fine sandpaper to smooth it out and put a new camshafts in?

Thanks in advance.

Old 12-21-2016, 01:46 PM

Received 691 Likes on 568 Posts

I don't think you could polish that out without removing too much material. Im no expert in this area though. It looks pretty severe to my eyes.
The following users liked this post:
igorek25 (12-21-2016)
Old 12-21-2016, 01:48 PM
Some guy

Received 2,013 Likes on 1,281 Posts

Ouch, what a groove! If it was me... I wouldn't replace them. Make sure they're clean, maybe clean that part of the camshaft, put it back in and keep the oil clean. It's not like the cam shaft is going to break.
Old 12-21-2016, 02:01 PM

Originally Posted by Martian
Ouch, what a groove! If it was me... I wouldn't replace them. Make sure they're clean, maybe clean that part of the camshaft, put it back in and keep the oil clean. It's not like the cam shaft is going to break.
What I was thinking, is to use very fine sandpaper to smooth it out and just keep it as is but replace the upper bearings and the camshafts and add Lucas on every oil change. also one of the rocker arm was failed (stock) on the driver side and did some damage to the cam.

Last edited by igorek25; 12-21-2016 at 02:11 PM.
Old 12-21-2016, 02:02 PM
Monks

Received 248 Likes on 221 Posts