Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Shop Trouble

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2015, 04:05 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Shop Trouble

Could use some advice here guys.

Local shop here that is relatively new. I'm a high school student and did not know too much about cars.

So in May of last year I was driving my car and it was shacking violently around 45mph. I took it to this shop and they told me it was the tie rods. They were "about to fall out" I was charged $300 for new tie rods, on top of that I was told that my shocks and struts were desperately needing replaced. I'll give it to them, they were. That was another $700, I got a "one time deal" from the usual $1200. So that visit cost me $1100. I leave and the same exact issue is happening. They told me they could not recreate it but it happened right as I left the parking lot. I take it back and they tell me that I need to replace my tires because the inside wall of the tire was destroyed and caused the vibration.

Fast forward $1200 (aftermarket tires) the issue is better, but happens a few days later. I take it back and demand that they do something because I'd spent so much to no avail. They check and tell me that it was the ring and pinion in the rear end. They did not charge me for labor (Should have been $700) and did not charge me for the grease or U-joint. I also received a $100 discount. The receipt says that the "rear differential kit" was replaced for $693.50. That was last year.

Fast forward to last week. I am having another mechanic do some work and he tells me that the pinion seal is leaking and the main boot is leaking. He pops open the drain plug to check the level and it comes pouring out. It let out a 32oz cup of grey liquid with a little bit of metal in it.