Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2004 - 2008 Ford F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-30-2012, 07:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Parking brake light on?

Hey guys
i have a 2006 f150 4x4 and my parking brake light keeps coming on
I disconnected the parking brake switch and it stayed on, i put a 5a fuse between the two wires that plug into brake res and the light stayed on.
I plugged everything in and wiggled all the wires to see if it was a loose wire still stayed on
i tapped the plastic above the cluster on the dash and the light turned off, tapped it lightly agian it turned on.
Would this be the connector going into the cluster or the wiring itself? anyone expierence this before on their truck?
I want to know how much of a job/what i should look for before i rip my dash apart.
CTrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 07:23 PM   #2
I am Mr. Clean!
 
djfllmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: York, PA
Posts: 7,333
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Thanks: 12
Thanked 276 Times in 220 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

check the brake fluid level...as a precaution
__________________
2014 F150 XLT Supercrew 5.0 (ALL the options)
1968 Ford Thunderbird 2dr Landau 429CID V8 1 of 950-Weekend Toy
DD-1992 Olds Cutlass Ciera
TRADED: 2007 F150 Supercab 5.4
SOLD: 2003 Ranger FX4 4.0 V6

Last edited by djfllmn; 09-30-2012 at 07:25 PM.
djfllmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 07:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djfllmn View Post
check the brake fluid level...that light also doubles as the warning light for the braking system
Just went out and checked and it is at the max mark.
CTrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:04 PM   #4
Fabteched FX4
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Just had one come into the shop i work at. Ended up needing a cluster. BUT!!! there is a cheap fix. take your insturment cluster out, there should be 2 plugs on the top, one on the left and one on the right. Wiggle the one on the left back around and see if it goes out. If so, it needs a cluster, but ive seen people take a peice of vacuum hose and slit it, and rig it hold the wires/connector in the right spot to make the light stay out. hope this is alittle help to you and you dont have to spend the money on a cluster.
121_FX4 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 121_FX4 For This Useful Post:
cleon169 (07-31-2013)
Old 10-02-2012, 09:05 PM   #5
Meaner than Ymeski
5 Year Member
 
bobkyle2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,701
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Thanks: 427
Thanked 711 Times in 424 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

My 08 does this sometimes. Hmm..I just ignored it lol
__________________

Click Here for instructions on uploading pics!
My 08F150's life
My Chevy K5 build thread.
bobkyle2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:55 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 121_FX4 View Post
Just had one come into the shop i work at. Ended up needing a cluster. BUT!!! there is a cheap fix. take your insturment cluster out, there should be 2 plugs on the top, one on the left and one on the right. Wiggle the one on the left back around and see if it goes out. If so, it needs a cluster, but ive seen people take a peice of vacuum hose and slit it, and rig it hold the wires/connector in the right spot to make the light stay out. hope this is alittle help to you and you dont have to spend the money on a cluster.
I will give that a try this afternoon
I tapped it lightly to see if it would go out and the aprox location I have to hit it and it reset my trip odo lol
When you say the one of the left Is that looking at the front of the cluster or looking behind it?
CTrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 03:15 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
JarreT329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

my problem i have is after i use my parking brake when i release it, the brake does not come all the way back up.. when i release it, it actually is coming back up but it is down like 1 centimeter and the brake is not applied at all it just is down enough to keep the light on. try pulling up on the pedal with your hand and make sure it is all the way up
JarreT329 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 09:38 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 121_FX4 View Post
Just had one come into the shop i work at. Ended up needing a cluster. BUT!!! there is a cheap fix. take your insturment cluster out, there should be 2 plugs on the top, one on the left and one on the right. Wiggle the one on the left back around and see if it goes out. If so, it needs a cluster, but ive seen people take a peice of vacuum hose and slit it, and rig it hold the wires/connector in the right spot to make the light stay out. hope this is alittle help to you and you dont have to spend the money on a cluster.
I had the same problem with my 2007 XLT. It was easy to diagnose by removing the two panels under and over the steering wheel and wiggling the top left plug with the engine running and the parking brake off. For my fix I used a zip tie and a plastic zip tie mount with double stick tape on the back. I wrapped the tie around the plug and through the mount I put in a hidden spot on the cluster. I then ratcheted the tie until the light went off plus a tad tighter for extra security. The light hasn't come on yet and everything else on the cluster works normally. A new cluster runs $381 for my model year, plus maybe an hour of labor at the dealer for install and programming. The supplies I used cost maybe $5 at Home Depot.
cleon169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 10:39 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleon169 View Post
I had the same problem with my 2007 XLT. It was easy to diagnose by removing the two panels under and over the steering wheel and wiggling the top left plug with the engine running and the parking brake off. For my fix I used a zip tie and a plastic zip tie mount with double stick tape on the back. I wrapped the tie around the plug and through the mount I put in a hidden spot on the cluster. I then ratcheted the tie until the light went off plus a tad tighter for extra security. The light hasn't come on yet and everything else on the cluster works normally. A new cluster runs $381 for my model year, plus maybe an hour of labor at the dealer for install and programming. The supplies I used cost maybe $5 at Home Depot.
Update... the adhesive on the zip tie mount failed after about a week of parking the car in the sun. I solved this by removing the double-stick tape from the back of a new mount, cleaning the back of the mount with rubbing alcohol to remove any residue, and using "Loctite Plastics Bonding System" glue to permanently weld it in place.
cleon169 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to cleon169 For This Useful Post:
CannonCapo (11-27-2013), kevint3 (08-20-2013), THEdavehogue (03-28-2014)
Old 08-20-2013, 10:47 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Thank you cleon169. I am going to try that this weekend.
kevint3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 10:47 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.