Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2004 - 2008 Ford F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

OEM subwoofer plug breakdown

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2009, 09:12 PM   #1
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
FOMOCO466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: VA BEACH
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default OEM subwoofer plug breakdown

OK guys and gals, I've got the info you want for the OEM subwoofer plug and wiring. I traced the wires from the small plug (sub) to the driverside kick panel. The wires are in their own lil wire loom all taped up nice and neat. It comes out of the main loom under the kick panel and goes into the main plug (see pics) in the upper left corner. If your truck dosen't have the small plug behnd the head unit then you will need to run all these yourself. If you have the wires for the sub, they will run from the back side of this main plug, down the driverside threshold to the back of the cab where it branches off to go under the carpet and get screwed to a white screw. If you don't want to pull the carpet, look for a little slit in the carpet and feel rearward about 4-6 inches and you should find the plug. In the pics is a pic of how the wire is ran to the subwoofer with the carpet pulled forward. You can just pull up the drivers rear threshold and see if you have the pigtail going under the carpet, seperate from the main wire loom running up behind the door to the auto belt tensioner, and the power rear slider plug (I believe that's what it is for as to how it's routed and where it goes) I think the pass side wire harness goes up to the rear cargo and third brake light. Here are the pics, pics are of the 3 plugs for the radio (4th is there also.. think it's for the steering wheel controls) pic od the main wire harness (thick black wire looking thing is the radio sub harness) pic of the white connector is the main plug under the driver kickpanel, the upper/left green wire you can see is one from the sub plug wire loom. other is of the sub plug itself behind the H/Unit. then pic of the wire harness as it sits on the floor under the carpet. Last pic is of the three plugs the radio has to have in order to run the sub. small plug on left (sub) med plug (aux/sirius ect) large is the main power, speakers, ect.) hope this all helps.
Attached Thumbnails
OEM subwoofer plug  breakdown-p2020417.jpg   OEM subwoofer plug  breakdown-p2020415.jpg   OEM subwoofer plug  breakdown-p2020411.jpg   OEM subwoofer plug  breakdown-p2020413.jpg   OEM subwoofer plug  breakdown-subwoofer-plug.jpg  

Attached Images
 
FOMOCO466 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FOMOCO466 For This Useful Post:
Doug the Dog (12-14-2012)
Old 02-13-2009, 12:22 AM   #2
Member
 
BUZZFX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Hey FOMOCO466,
By any chance do you know the pin order for the male connector for the amp connection?
BUZZFX4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 06:09 AM   #3
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
FOMOCO466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: VA BEACH
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default try this

take a look at this http://www.f150forum.com/f4/swapping-07-mustang-radio-07-f150-problems-16265/
Attached Files
File Type: doc radio read out.doc (24.0 KB, 219 views)

Last edited by FOMOCO466; 02-13-2009 at 06:16 AM.
FOMOCO466 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 10:21 AM   #4
Member
 
BUZZFX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Thanks for the suggestion, but not quite what I was looking for. Probably my fault for not explain my side more. I'm trying wiring the male connector that plugs into the female connector of the amp. I know in theory what colored wires from the radio goes to what pin on the male amp connector. My problem is that the male connector that I have for the amp female connection does not indicate what the pin order is, simply, there is no indication of what pin is #1-#10 on the connector and all the pigtail wires are black.

Any suggestions?
BUZZFX4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 11:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
FOMOCO466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: VA BEACH
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default take a look

I'll see what I can dig up, I saw it somewhere. here's a pic of the plug, zoom in on it, might help a little. here's this
Pin 3 HU -> Pin 9 Sub
Pin 1 HU -> Pin 7 Sub (Should be shielded)

Pin 2 HU -> Pin 8 Sub (Should be shielded)
Pin 4 HU -> Pin 1 Sub (Shield)

These 2 are wired separately:

Hot power +12V -> Pins 5 & 6 Sub
Ground -> Pins 2 & 3 Sub there should be tiny numbers on the plug
Attached Thumbnails
OEM subwoofer plug  breakdown-subwoofer-plug.jpg  

Last edited by FOMOCO466; 02-13-2009 at 11:27 PM.
FOMOCO466 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 02:54 AM   #6
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
FOMOCO466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: VA BEACH
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

oo oo
78 910
o o o o o o <~~~~ amp pin numbers
1 2 3 4 5 6
FOMOCO466 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 07:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
FOMOCO466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: VA BEACH
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default sub wires

here are a few pics of the wiring for the sub.... if you have the plug behind the radio, but NOT in the back of the cab, the wires go to this plug and stop, you have to wire them into here (other side of the plug) the pic with my finger behind the wires is the front side of the plug coming down from behind the dash down to the kick panel area. the wires infront of my finger are the wires from the sub plug in back of the radio. you have to wire into these, or put pins and wires in the other plug (female side) for the two to connect and run them to the sub, you will also need to run a power and a ground.

I'm still trying to get someone who will show or answer where the power and ground comes from on the factory setup. I'd also like to see a close up pic of the factory plug for the sub to get a an (color) idea of where the wires go into the plug.

the female part of the plug snaps into the holder, release two tabs and it will push out backwards to ease the installation of the pins (i'm going to see about getting them from radio shack. (N O T E.... this plug connects the speakers in the doors too, when I pulled it apart all the speakers shut down, and I got a tone out of the dash, dome light wont work either.)
Attached Thumbnails
OEM subwoofer plug  breakdown-p2190418.jpg   OEM subwoofer plug  breakdown-p2190417.jpg   OEM subwoofer plug  breakdown-p2190416.jpg  
FOMOCO466 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 12:21 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FOMOCO466 View Post
oo oo
78 910
o o o o o o <~~~~ amp pin numbers
1 2 3 4 5 6

THANK YOU! Now are these numbers in order if your lookin at the wire side or the pin (plug)side?
I have been forum/site hopping and registering in search of this info right here!
Glad i found your post over at f150online....
Fabian06SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 01:14 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Ushkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

anyway to use the factory sub with aftermarket unit?
Ushkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 06:03 AM   #10
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
FOMOCO466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: VA BEACH
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default sure

yes, I've seen kits on Ebay, for the harness. type in f150 sub wiring, or radio wiring, you'll see it, some even have the rca plugs on them.
FOMOCO466 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 06:45 AM   #11
Moderator
5 Year Member
 
Bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lake Mary Florida
Posts: 6,999
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanked 119 Times in 94 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Great writeup. I'd suggest this makes it into the "sticky" section.

At the very least, we now have a good thread to providfe to those that will ask this question in the furure, and not bother using the search.
__________________
Give an answer, they learn for the day; suggest a search, they learn for a lifetime.

2007 F150 STX Supercab (4.6 2V V8)
Bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 11:53 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ushkie View Post
anyway to use the factory sub with aftermarket unit?
all depends if you have the truck prewired.
If you have both the sub plug in the rear and the sub plug for the radio up front then yes, its as simple as buying a ten dollar small harness. I have one that came with my radio install kit if your in need of one.

If your truck is NOT prewired you will have to do what im doing, and that is to make a harness using some factory connectors.
Take a look at this thread, it gives you the part numbers for the ford plugs as well as a ton of info on how to wire them up if your not prewired. Im just using the sub connector and wiring it in to my aftermarket unit so i dont need the radio end.
Fabian06SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 05:56 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Ushkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I am wired. I took out the 6 disc to put my flip out in and didnt have the plug for the sub. Im going to call tomorrow to see what i can come up with for this plug you speak of lol
Ushkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 05:34 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Ushkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

$18 and here by weds. as soon as i said ford f150 factory sub he said $18. apparently it happens a lot
Ushkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 09:04 PM   #15
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
FOMOCO466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: VA BEACH
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default ????

what was 18.00??? the sub plug itself was 36.00 from my dealer.
FOMOCO466 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 03:41 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FOMOCO466 View Post
what was 18.00??? the sub plug itself was 36.00 from my dealer.
hes talking about the aftermarket sub plug. the one that has the rca's and plugs into the factory plug to the rear of the stereo and to an aftermarket RCA and remote.

Be sure to research the resistor cause the factory sub has a 5v turn on lead (remote) and your aftermarket radio will have a 12v remote. You have to step that remote down to a 5v so that your sub doesnt pop when your stereo turns on.

Like i told you ushkie, i have it, i have a kenwood 8120 that it came with and i am not prewired for so i cant use it and have no need for it. I have to run my own wiring so the plug you need is useless to me. You coulda had it for like 4 bucks in shipping but oh well.
Let us know how your install works out.
Fabian06SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 12:17 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Ushkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Thanks for the offer Fabian but im impatient lol.
Ushkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 03:02 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Ushkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

ended up with the plug for free and a buddy is goin to hook it up for me with a resistor he has. so busy with work i havent had a chance.
Ushkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 01:21 PM   #19
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
jbhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Newnan,GA
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 21 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

so if its wired for that, is there an adpater to convert that plug into rca's for an aftermarket amp?
__________________
James Hill
2012 Regular Cab F-150
jbhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 01:27 AM   #20
Junior Member
 
owengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default factory to aftermarket amp installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbhill View Post
so if its wired for that, is there an adpater to convert that plug into rca's for an aftermarket amp?
I think I'm hoping to do the same thing with my truck. I wanna keep the factory head unit with navigation, but take out the factory sub and possibly use some of the wiring that is currently ran to hook up an aftermarket amp with 2 subs under the rear seat.

I realize an aftermarket amp would need to be connected to it's own ground and directly to the battery, but would the sub signal wires and remote wire currently connected to the factory amp and sub be enough to get an aftermarket amp the signal it needs and tell it when to turn on and off. If so, would the sub signal wires be considered speaker/ high level inputs or would they be a cleaner like preamp inputs.

I can't seem to find an answer to this anywhere on the site.
owengg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 01:27 AM
 
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
subwoofer box help hjkmotor 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 8 11-02-2011 05:34 PM
Diagram Engine BreakDown 351M '78 Lsballa Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner 1 05-24-2009 09:08 AM
Plug / Coil-on-plug question...brand preference? MGood777 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 2 01-23-2009 01:30 PM
My new subwoofer and amp!!! BigJ23 Stereo/Audio 4 01-01-2009 10:09 AM
A couple of Subwoofer/Amp Q's charger77 Stereo/Audio 39 12-07-2008 01:41 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.