Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Newbie ....

Old 08-08-2009, 09:20 PM

Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts

Default Newbie ....

Hi folks,

I am a newbie both in the forums and into the truck world. I owed 4 Windstars but now the time has come to get myself a truck. Today I was at a Ford dealer and made an offer on a 2006 F-150 crew cab, 4X4, 4.6l. it has around 63K miles on it ... A little high but that's all I could afford.

I took it for a test drive and it was driving solid. Very recently I had a rental Sierra crew cab as a rental, and F-150 was driving much better, probably because the other one was rental. I gave it a good check up and down as much as I could but I am no mechanic. The dealer is offering a 6 month warranty on it and I will be buying Ford's Power Train warranty for the longest period.

Except the stuff I could locate visually, is there anything I should be wary of in this truck ? Are there certain things which normally just die at around this mileage is what I mean I guess.

I asked the dealer for the carproof report (Canadian carfax basically) but I only got the lien part and they said they do not run carproof and they stand behind their vehicles and they have a disclosure sheet basically guaranting that the car hasn't been in a flood, accident, not painted blah blah blah. This sort of made me feel uneasy but I am not sure if 40 bucks to run a carproof report is worth it. I used carfax's free vin checker and it said it found 9 records, is that normal for a 4 year old truck ?

I will be using it as my primary vehicle and to tow my tent trailer, so it won't see heavy duty work. Can I expect at least 5-6 years of life out of this truck with around 16-19K miles a year ? I am hoping that whatever breaks down will be covered by the extended warranty if any .....

Thanks for your help in advance !
Old 08-08-2009, 11:30 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post