Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

New to me truck. Cam position sensor issues.

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2012, 05:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to me truck. Cam position sensor issues.

I want to make a long story short. I JUST bought a 2004 F-150 with the 5.4 I bought it from a dealer, and it has a brand new crate engine in it. They had to send this truck to a different dealer, because they could not keep the MIL lamp off. Well, needless to say, it came back on while coming home. I sell used trucks for a living, at a different dealer. I was a tech for 13 years frior. I was hoping someone who has gone through this before can give me some clues on where to go with this thing as far as fixing it. Can someone please tell me what I need to look for??!! Thank you!
Old 03-02-2012, 10:43 PM

Originally Posted by Meek
I want to make a long story short. I JUST bought a 2004 F-150 with the 5.4 I bought it from a dealer, and it has a brand new crate engine in it. They had to send this truck to a different dealer, because they could not keep the MIL lamp off. Well, needless to say, it came back on while coming home. I sell used trucks for a living, at a different dealer. I was a tech for 13 years frior. I was hoping someone who has gone through this before can give me some clues on where to go with this thing as far as fixing it. Can someone please tell me what I need to look for??!! Thank you!
What are the trouble codes?
Old 03-02-2012, 11:03 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Meek

If it is the cam position sensors that is an easy fix. The plugs are on the front of the block, and they can be bought at several different auto parts stores, if the plugs are broken, you may have to visit the stealership.

If the truck has a tapping, it could be the VCT solenoid, again something that can be picked up for a hefty price and wait at a parts store.