Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

New F150 Owner, New to Forum, Towing Suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2014, 11:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New F150 Owner, New to Forum, Towing Suggestions?

Hello everyone,

My name is Mark, I just purchased a 2005 Ford F150 4x4 Standard Cab, I'll see if I can attach a picture below.

I'm new to the F150 and Ford in general, I grew up in a GM family but I've been warming up to Ford these last few years, especially the trucks, I figured I couldn't go wrong with a F150. - Always wanted a pickup, wife finally let me get one because we are planning to purchase a travel trailer next year for camping. I sold my 2008 Chev. Malibu and bought this thing for cash, I didn't want a 2nd car payment again.

The truck had 80k miles when I bought it, from AZ (I'm in MN) so no rust, it's very clean. It was owned by a city in AZ as a municipal work truck so it's VERY basic, no cruise control, crank windows etc. But I got a great deal on it that I couldn't pass up. It would be nice to get 250k out of this thing, I'm very good about regular maintenance, what are your thoughts?

I'm not looking to do any crazy modifications to it, although I've come across some beautiful customizations around the forums. I bought it for towing, I went for the 4.6L V8 because I've heard of some issues with the 5.4L that I thought I could avoid, it might not be the best choice for towing, but I did luck out with the 3.73 gears so maybe that will make up for it a little bit?

The sticker says 6800lbs towing capacity, I'd like to keep a little under that.. It doesn't have a stock towing package, so I'm going to buy a class IV hitch setup for it, travel trailer will have sway bars but I'm not planning to get into load balancing. That said we are looking for campers in the 4000-4500lbs empty range, so we're talking a max of 6000lbs fully loaded.