Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Low Budget Lift Kit & Wheels

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2009, 08:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Low Budget Lift Kit & Wheels

Hey guys i'm a newbie to the forum here (which is great) and i've got some questions.

I just recently got a 2006 4X4 f-150 and i'm looking for a lift. Nothing crazy because this is my daily driver, but i still love to take her off-road for some fun. Thing is i need some more axle clearence and better tires, but i dont have too much money to spend. I've never lifted a truck before so i need some advice.

3'' body lift?
4'' lift?
6'' is the max i think i would go.

Should i look for a lift from the dealer or somewhere else?
Also what are some good tires/wheels for the mud/snow, that are still decent on the road?

Thanks for the help.
Old 03-02-2009, 08:45 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

2.5" of front level can fit you 35's. 35's is the most axle clearance you are going to get without going to ATLEAST 6" lift and 3" body and 37s'. I've never seen anyone who had 37's on our trucks with just a 6" lift because it would take an extremely offset wheel and even then not sure it would work without wheel spacers and that's just a waste of money.

I have a 3" front and 2" adl just for a little added height and keeper level with heavy loads.

For wheels on a budget, go around and ask tire dealers what they have for take-offs that will fit your truck. My wheels were originally 270 a piece, I got all 4 for $200 in MINT condition.

For tires. I highly recommend Toyo Open Country M/Ts
BFGs are only other tire I even considered on my truck, I decided they were not loud enough for me.

Toyo's.= Better off road
BFGs= Quiter- Still good off road.
Ofcourse that comparison was on two different trucks so it's kinda hard to tell which one is actually better. Toyo's were on my 06 SCAB, BFGs on roommates 00 silv 1500 ext cab
Old 03-02-2009, 08:52 PM