Limp Home Mode - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



Limp Home Mode

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-07-2011, 09:52 AM   #1
Hockey NUT
Thread Starter
 
lt5fd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: State College,PA
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Limp Home Mode

Ive gotten the wrench on the dash 2 times in the past 3 days. I googled it and it says that there is something wrong with the electronic throttle control and it puts your truck into a limp home mode which cuts power. I cleared the code with my edge tuner and it stayed of for 2 days. Last night I got in my truck and started it. Threw it in reverse before letting the rpm settle down and I got the wrench again. Cleared the code and it hasnt come back. But I did remember that when I got the wrench the first time it was also when I put the truck in reverse and pulled out before letting the rpm settle down. Its been raining very hard here in PA for the past few days. I was wondering if the rain/humidity could be the cause for this. Or if its because Im attempting to take off before the engine settles.
lt5fd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:59 AM   #2
08 F150 LIMITED
5 Year Member
 
diamonbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mechanicsville Va.
Posts: 293
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Can you take your throttle body off and clean it? I would try that first!
diamonbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:02 AM   #3
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 604
Thanked 47 Times in 40 Posts
Default

if you have a cold air intake.....here's the culprit.

mine only do the error in winter when there's a lot of wind.
maxpat82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:04 AM   #4
Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This happened to my 07 HD edition. Replaced throttle body, still failed. 700$ later and a new computer made the problem go away.
VerTDznS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:26 AM   #5
Hockey NUT
Thread Starter
 
lt5fd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: State College,PA
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just cleaned my throttle body about 500 miles ago. I did notice inside that it appeared to have knicks in it. I dont know from what.. But that cant help the problem.
lt5fd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:28 AM   #6
Hockey NUT
Thread Starter
 
lt5fd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: State College,PA
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxpat82 View Post
if you have a cold air intake.....here's the culprit.

mine only do the error in winter when there's a lot of wind.
I dont have a CAI... Maybe its just coincidence.. But the only 2 times it did it was when I didnt let the engine idle down and i gassed it in reverse.
lt5fd is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello, and disappointing service story...very! And, it's a long read...I apologize. Cobrajett 2015 - Present Ford F150 7 Today 04:59 PM
Rant: it's a TRUCK, not a limousine or a science project chief_bs 2015 - Present Ford F150 64 04-10-2016 05:19 PM
known/Common Ecoboost Issues slidellkid General F150 Discussion 14 09-19-2015 09:36 AM
Truck won't accelerate past 3000rpm stephens95 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 5 09-09-2015 06:05 PM
Had to get rid of my f150 nsejda 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 12 09-04-2015 07:58 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com