Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Leveling/Raising Height

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2012, 11:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Leveling/Raising Height

I have no experience with leveling a truck, and don't know a whole lot about it. However, my 04 work truck has sagged over the years. I use it for towing on a daily basis and after almost 8 years it's looking pretty sad. About a year ago I replaced the front shock/strut assembly, but that didn't really do the job. The front end especially seems low to me, and the overall height of the truck seems lower than other trucks I see.

I'd like to bring that height up. Don't need bigger tires, would just like to see some height on the thing. But I worry that raising that front up will cause problems for towing.

What is the effect of towing on a truck that has been leveled or raised in the front? I don't want to hook up the trailer and have the front end too far up in the air once the load brings down the back end. I suppose I could raise the rear up a bit too to counter that.

Any suggestions or help?

Thanks.
Tom
Old 02-06-2012, 11:33 PM

here mine with a 3 inch leveling kit from hell bent steel it didn't change much when towing i tow a 25ft travel trailer just fine with it it sits about 1 inch higher in front when trailer on

Leveling/Raising Height-forumrunner_20120206_222834.jpg
Old 02-07-2012, 12:23 AM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

-2" procomp kit, i havent done any towing since it was put on. the only thing i see affecting the ride of the trailer is lifting the rear end, because your hitch would be higher in the air making more distance from the trailer. which would sink the backend of your trailer when you hook up
Old 02-07-2012, 02:22 AM

How do these kits work? The spring/shocks are one unit on these trucks. Is it as simple as just putting a longer strut assembly on there?