Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

LED Switchbacks??

Old 03-12-2015, 02:47 PM

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Default LED Switchbacks??

Hey guys, I'm new to all this f150 stuff! Just came from a tundra. Anyways, one of the few projects I want to start first is LED Switchback lights..
I'm looking to buy the ones off amazon (JDM ASTAR) and was wondering who has done it before. Also, will I need to get the relay or capacitor for hyperlink.. If so how much did that cost you guys for relay? Also does anyone have a guide on how to do it, I'm sure I can probably find it on YouTube but was coming to you guys first! Thanks.
Old 03-12-2015, 03:07 PM

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Welcome to the site!
I have switchbacks on my '05. The ones I purchased were from superbrightleds.com, and I would recommend them based on quality. They are 14.95 per bulb, but I really like them. I got type "A" ones, meaning that when blinking, the lights go from amber to off, instead of amber to white, with it being white when parking lights are on. I installed the relay for hyperflashing (an EP-27, around 10 bucks at advance auto) instead of using the resistors because I did not want to cut any wiring. The relay is underneath the plastic panel under the steering wheel, honestly the best way to find it is to put on the 4 way flasher and find the source of the clicking. From there, it is as simple as pulling out the old relay and replacing it with the new one. I used some 2 sided tape to re-mount the new relay to the spot the old one was (it has a little plastic tab that'll make sense when you see it). As far as installation, you may or not need to pull the headlight out (depending on hand size), but it's just a typical bulb swap. Also, the lights are particular about which way you put them in, so if at first it doesn't work, take it out and turn it around. If you've got any questions, I'll do my best to help!
Old 03-12-2015, 03:53 PM