Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

K&N CAI problem with 04F150

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2012, 08:18 PM

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Default K&N CAI problem with 04F150

My 04 f150 with a superchip and flowmasters and it has 70k on it. Last january i put on a k&n CAI and ever since the installation ive had a major loss in gas mileage. Also when i accelerate just a tad bit faster than usual from speeds from 0-40 the the rpm's fluctuate (jump down a little, then back to normal) a little when i initially step on the gas. It doesn't fluctuate a lot, just enough to where i want to know what the problem is because i know that its not supposed to happen. I figured it might be because the fuel sensor on the intake might be dirty from when i changed it out of the stock air tube to the k&n filter tube. But I'm not a mechanic so any opinion would be appreciated.
Old 01-04-2012, 01:27 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by 04black150
My 04 f150 with a superchip and flowmasters and it has 70k on it. Last january i put on a k&n CAI and ever since the installation ive had a major loss in gas mileage. Also when i accelerate just a tad bit faster than usual from speeds from 0-40 the the rpm's fluctuate (jump down a little, then back to normal) a little when i initially step on the gas. It doesn't fluctuate a lot, just enough to where i want to know what the problem is because i know that its not supposed to happen. I figured it might be because the fuel sensor on the intake might be dirty from when i changed it out of the stock air tube to the k&n filter tube. But I'm not a mechanic so any opinion would be appreciated.