Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

instrument cluster gauges big issue

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2009, 11:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default instrument cluster gauges big issue

ok tonight when i got in my truck i know have no lights in my instrument cluster when i turn my headlamps on no ac control lights nothing and i also noticed that when my parking lights are on they dim out and then come back on like every two seconds and i can see a little light trying to come in on the ac controls every time this happens i checked all the fuses it that are listed in the fuse box panel and all are good what else could be causeing this issue if it would be a fuse for sure what would it be listed as besides like instrument cluster or parking lamp?? i really need help cant even drive at night
Old 05-26-2009, 09:44 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Wow. thats no good. I am not a mechanic, so I could be way off on this but it seems to me if your truck started normally then it's probably not your battery or alternator. (however I would check all the cables and wires to make sure none are loose or chaffed).

My first thought was a bad fuse as well, but when you said it goes from bright to dim every few seconds it makes me think that something is drawing too much power from the system (maybe a shorted wire somewhere).

I would try starting your truck and turning everyting possible that draws electrical power off (air-conditioner, radio, gps, overhead lights, nothing plugged into cig lighter ect...). If this gets rid of the problem then you can turn each thing back on one at a time to isolate what is causing it. If that doesn't work just look and feel closely for any loose or exposed wire.

Just my thoughts, and hey, according to my wife I know what I'm talking about every now and then. So maybe todays the day.

Good luck
Old 05-26-2009, 09:52 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post