Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

How to Tell if Cam Phasers are Bad

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2014, 12:43 PM
Texas A&M Aggie

Received 1,344 Likes on 976 Posts

Default How to Tell if Cam Phasers are Bad

Okay so like the title states I'm curious how to tell if they're bad in a more concrete way than a noise without pulling the cover or if that's even possible. I'd hate to think it was the phasers, replace them, and it's just the VCT solenoids or injector noise. Anyone have any suggestions?
Old 04-29-2014, 01:17 PM

Received 48 Likes on 46 Posts

Mine ticks under acceleration on the driver side so I replaced the VCT and it's still ticking, if not louder than before
Old 04-29-2014, 02:30 PM

Received 62 Likes on 40 Posts

I am not a mechanic and have not done these repairs, so take what I have to say with a grain of salt. I am only conveying what I have been told by mechanics and other Ford guys who love their trucks.

Replacing a VCT solenoid with a bad cam phaser still in the truck will likely put more pressure into the system since the old VCT was most likely damaged by the bad cam phaser in the first place. This also means your new VCT will more than likely be damaged in the same manner after a while. There's also no moving parts in a VCT solenoid, so the ticking is definitely not coming from that.

Really far gone cam phasers can destroy a VCT, causing the timing of the engine to be so far gone it doesn't even idle (or start) once it gets warm and the system goes out of "warmup" mode, so watch out for changing a potentially bad VCT and not changing the associated cam phaser.