Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

How to remove ac evaporator? HELP

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2016, 01:58 PM

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

Default How to remove ac evaporator? HELP

Last summer I replaced my a/c compressor, drier, and orifice after my a/c compressor went out. I went and had the thing vacuumed down and filled with freon, and man that thing was ICE COLD. After a few weeks I couldn't tell if the temperature getting hotter had made the a/c less responsive or if it was leaking freon. So, I took it back in to the shop and sure enough it was down to 1lb of freon. They told me the reason it was leaking was because there were no caps on the high and low pressure ports, so they filled me back up and sent me to the local o'reilly's to buy some caps (I thought this was strange myself, but I am not a mechanic so I trusted them). Back to cold a/c I thought I was set, until a few weeks later I was back to mediocre cooling. I took it back up there and sure enough all of the freon had leaked back out. So they looked over my whole truck and "couldn't find any leaks." With winter coming on I had no need for a/c so this project got put on the back burner until now. I took my truck back up to the shop two days ago, and they still didn't see any leaks anywhere. They then told me that the evaporator core must be leaking. I found that a little strange as it didn't leak before I replaced everything else? I have scoured google as well as many forums and youtube, but I cannot find instructions on removing the dash in our year model trucks, only 97-03 and earlier. Does anyone have a link to some help or know how to get at this themselves?

Truck is an 08 STX 4x4 4.6l

any help would be greatly appreciated! as well as any other thoughts about this!
Old 03-03-2016, 04:30 PM
TOTM 8/2019

Received 339 Likes on 253 Posts

I've removed the entire dash in a 2006 F150 to get to the mode door.