Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

How to preserve NEW cam phasers...

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2013, 10:57 PM
ATW
Wisco FX4

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow How to preserve NEW cam phasers...

Good evening, all... Been lurking here for a few weeks in my quest to 'cross into the darkside' and buy a Ford. I've been a Dodge guy pretty much since I could drive. My father has been a big Ford fan, but it never rubbed off...until now.. and I am 25 years old.

I've been driving a lifted '01 Dakota Quad Cab for a few years, but it was approaching time to upgrade. I spotted a 2004 F150 FX4 locally at a Ford dealership that was a trade in. Low miles.. (88K), Supercrew, FX4-Lux (everything but leather), dark shadow gray in color. I started doing some research and found the usual spark plug/cam phaser threads that plague these 3V motors.

Now I work as a service manager for a busy auto repair shop about 8 miles from this dealership.. so I have access to every and any technicians reference guides, Identifix, AllData, TSB's... you name it. So I had done my research on what to expect. This forum also helped A TON, too.

I went to the dealership and took the vehicle on an overnight test drive. And, lucky me! It sounded like a mini Powerstroke at idle when hot--the classic symptom! The saleslady did the usual salesperson thing and ignore the concern when I had expressed that the motor wasn't healthy. I returned the vehicle dissatisfied with what was going on and walked away for I knew that it needed the $1200-1800 repair right off the bat.
The sales crew e-mailed me the following day--still believing that the truck was in perfect shape because it passed the 165 point inspection -- and told me that they were ready to deal. They offered me a full year powertrain warranty on the truck if I bought it.which includes "all internally lubricated parts....timing chain and parts.. etc". Perfect...