Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

How many guys have replaced there own timing set?

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2015, 10:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How many guys have replaced there own timing set?

It appears to be time to bite the bullet and replace the timing set on my '07 with 127,000. It has the infamous tick and I need to keep this truck at least to 200,000. So my question is how many of you guys did it yourselves, what are the results, do you have any tips/warnings? I have YouTubed it to death and I do know my way around the garage but I am by no means a professional mechanic. Thanks in advance
Old 02-19-2015, 02:28 PM

Received 264 Likes on 214 Posts

I did mine back during the summer, about 6000 or so miles ago and its still running great. I did some write-ups on things that I found and posted on here. Just do a search and you should find them. Make sure that you take your time, when you get the valve covers off, set the timing mark on the harmonic balancer at 1:00 (little notch in the harmonic balancer), then check the cam lobe positions as are pictured in one of my albums here, if necessary, rotate the harmonic balancer 180 degrees until the cam lobes are correct. Look at the thread "Final Guide ---" and the first few pages will really help. Not a hard job at all, just time consuming. If you need any help, just ask. Good luck and lastly, go with all OEM Ford parts and if you are changing out the phasers, do the timing chains, tensioners and guides as well. I also replaced all of my lash adjusters and followers to make sure that they were good (i found 13 bad of the 24).
Old 02-19-2015, 02:39 PM

Received 59 Likes on 44 Posts