Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

HID Headlight Issues...

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2014, 09:10 PM

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts

Default HID Headlight Issues...

First off, let me say I have NO experience whatsoever with HID lights...

The previous owner installed HID's in the headlights and fog lights and I'm not sure if this is normal but when I switch to high-beams, there are none... all lights shut off. Also, when I turn on the fog lights, the high beam dash light illuminates... It's kind of annoying even though the low beams are bright as hell... Also, How hard would it be to just convert all of them back to stock?
Thanks in advance for your help...
Old 11-19-2014, 12:18 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

As far as for the high beams, make sure your HID's are hi/lo not just hlo's. The lo's don't have a high beam. The way you can tell which are which is by how many bulbs the little assembly has. If the light has 2 bulbs it is a hi/lo if it has one it is just a lo kit.

To remove them is also pretty simple I'm not a pro guy myself and I can do it lol):

1. Remove the head lights. There should be 3 bolts holding in the head light. One on top and 2 on the side.

2. Once you remove the head lights pull them out and twist out the HID bulb.

3. Unplug the HID bulb from the factory wiring (green plug) and you should see the rest of the wiring going to a ballast. that ballast should not be connected to anything therefore you can simply just pull it off or unscrew it if it has a little mounting bracket.

4. Once you unplug it plug in your stock headlights and your good to go. Same steps apply to the fogs.

Wish i had pictures but i don't next time i swap out my lights ill snap a few and have them handy!

Best of luck!
The following users liked this post:
JKRIFX4 (11-19-2014)
Old 11-19-2014, 05:14 AM
Just Creepin

Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts