Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

HELP!! LISLE TOOL WONT BITE!! spark plug extraction

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2015, 02:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP!! LISLE TOOL WONT BITE!! spark plug extraction

hello, i decided to take the plunge today after a few weeks of getting prepped and procrastinating for my spark plugs. truck is at 115K. passenger side plugs all came out fine. but all of the drivers side have broken. 2 of them broke and i was able to use the lisle tool and it removed them without hesitation. it was almost fun to use it!! and then the rear most 2 are really chapping my *** right now. they both broke in such a strange way. keep in mind I am not an expert in spark plug anatomy. the other plugs that broke just broke off just below the threads, but these 2 were stuck in the spark plug well. i stuck a large flat head screwdriver down there and broke it off and pulled it out with some needle nose, thinking "aright cool now ill just use my lisle tool" nope. the extraction tool will not bite. it just spins. I've tried twice to get it to grab that broken part and it just won't. does anyone have any ideas as to what i can do to get this out? or what has happened in the breaking process to cause the tool to not bite? any help would be appreciated. I'm on a time crunch i need to finish my truck this weekend for work on monday morning! and I'm almost to tears with this
Old 04-25-2015, 03:16 AM
Triton54HD

Received 26 Likes on 21 Posts