Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

General Maintenance

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2010, 11:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default General Maintenance

Hey so im new to my 05 f150 XLT screw, and love it so far. Ive only really had junk vehicles prior to now and havnt been all over the maintenance. I want this truck to stay in great shape, so wanted so tips on what to do regularly to keep her 100%, other than your standard oil change/filter what should I be watching? fuel filter? plugs (when/how many km)..e.t.c?

Thanks
Old 12-29-2010, 12:47 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Fuel filter, air filter, and oil changes on time. DO NOT USE FRAM FILTERS. I recomend motor craft filters. If your truck is a 5.4 read the sticky at the top of the page in the 04-08 section about spark plugs.
Old 12-29-2010, 12:54 PM
5.4L Powerstroke

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

What I do...
1. Check the TB every year. Just sometime while doing an oil change. If it's pretty black just remove the air intake, filter box, and TB and clean it with TB Cleaner and a soft toothbrush.
(Note: DO NOT USE CARB CLEANER! Carb cleaner will potentially damage the finish)

2. Run a can of Seafoam through the PCV AND the brake booster line 2x a year.
(Note: the PCV services the Driver side, the Brake Booster services the Pass. side.)

3. Optional: Run a can of Seafoam through the oil once a year. Run it for 300-500 miles. I generally do mine in the fall, prior to the change that will take me through the winter months. (1.4oz/qt of oil)

4. Check your fluids regularly, you never know what might come up. Coolant, brake, power steering, etc...

5. Make sure there is no cluttered debris (dead bugs, leaves, grass..etc) in front of your radiator, blocking your air intake, just anywhere under the hood. Check your air filter also, every 2-3 oil changes depending on your driving habits and driving environment, driving on gravel will clog it up pretty fast.