Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Front Brake Upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2012, 10:53 PM

Received 103 Likes on 94 Posts

Default Front Brake Upgrade

I was finally able to upgrade my brakes this weekend. The poor weather and a lack of a garage prevents me from working on my truck projects as often as I would like to.

For this particular project, I studied the F-150's braking system. I also have my Ram 1500 as an equal comparison. The F-150's front brakes are actually designed very well. Unless you're towing/hauling at maximum capacity on a daily basis or taking your truck to the track then there really is no need for a big brake kit. The factory brakes are more than sufficient, as long as your calipers and brake lines are in top shape and you install high quality rotors and pads. I have original OEM rotors and pads. After studying which brake pads and rotors I wanted to go with, I decided to go with Hawk Ceramic (Yellow) and AP cross drilled and slotted rotors.

Here are the pics of my brake project. You'll also notice that in this picture I have brake shoes for my rear e-brakes. I haven't had a chance to do those yet and I will do those sometime down the road. I have never used Hawk brake pads before but they have a reputation for being better than EBC. I have personally used EBC RedStuff brake pads and I wanted to use them for this project but to my knowledge they are not available for our trucks. So Hawk Ceramics it is. I have already used AP cross drilled and slotted rotors as I have them at all four corners on my Ram 1500 and they are absolutely awesome.
http://i1208.photobucket.com/albums/...s/DSC00250.jpg