Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Flex a Lite efan electrical issues!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2012, 02:50 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Flex a Lite efan electrical issues!!

I posted a thread a few days ago about installing my flex a lite 270 efan... well it turned out well except for one thing and a very critical one!!

I will start by saying that every crimp and wiring connection has been carefully done and checked...with that being said: the fuse holder and fuse gets very hot, I happen to have one of those digital laser guns that measure heat and when pointing at the fuse the reading was 105 degrees (fahrenheit) .... I find this to be unnapceptable when the fans are supossed to be drawing 25 amp at full speeds and the fuse being rated at 30 amps, it should not get hot!!

I called flex a lite tech suport and they told me it was a fuse holder issue...I'm a technician for electric forklifts and other industrial equipment and I'm used to work with dc current electrical systems and I knew for sure the fuse holder was not the problem however I did not wanted to overide his diagnostic and agreed to wait for a new fuse holder!!Part came in and I installed it...same problem again!! after running for ten min the fuse gets very hot!!

I'm going to call tomorrow to ask what's the next step before I send them this useless piece of crap back to them!!
Old 01-29-2012, 04:35 PM

Received 532 Likes on 438 Posts

What wire did you pull the hot wire feeding through the fuse from?
Also, are your thermostat switch(es) all fed from the same hot, and then neutral/ground looped together before or after the fuse?

Last edited by Especial86; 01-29-2012 at 04:40 PM.
Old 01-29-2012, 06:36 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Have you actually checked the amp draw on the motor at full load?
It's possible the motor is dying and drawing too much current, but not enough to pop the fuse, which may be a slow-blow.