Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Exhaust ideas

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2014, 10:18 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Exhaust ideas

Hello, I'm wanting to do exhaust on my 07 f150 5.4 3v flex fuel. I'm wondering what your guys opinions are. I want it to be loud. I'm not looking for ear splitting loud, but I want a good deep sound without much crackle to it and don't wanna put something on that isn't going to have enough back pressure. I'm still pretty new with this 5.4. All ideas or opinions are welcomed
Old 06-30-2014, 12:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I just hooked up a thrush welded behind my 04 with a 4.6 ... pretty throaty but still really quiet. Just youtube what options you think would work best. Hope this helps
Old 06-30-2014, 12:58 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Ok First of all if you don't want loud the 5.4 isn't a loud motor. its gunna sound roughly the same with any type exhaust. I have header back true dual exhaust with two glass packs and my old suburban with a flowmaster exhaust was louder. The burban was even louder than when i first installed my headers and started it just for giggles for a sec. That modular motor isn't a loud motor at all. where you get the deep loud resonating is mostly from your exhaust tips. I'm not sure how to attach a audio clip if i did id go start my truck and rev it a few times to give you and idea of how loud pretty much a straight thru dual 2.5 inch exhausts is... stock cats so i'm sure thats where alot of my sound is getting trapped at. A stock dodge Hemi 1500 is louder than my fully modded exhaust on my truck. I don't think you have to worry. Just fyi i got my headers x pipe tubing bends and clamps from summit racing equipment all for about 400 bucks and assembled it myself but i have a welder so if thats not an option for you the pre made kits will work out for you nice.

Last edited by Trent W; 06-30-2014 at 01:02 AM.