Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

exhaust hanger setups

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2016, 09:33 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default exhaust hanger setups

Looking for ideas on how to fabricate an exhaust hanger for support. Have my exhaust dumped before the axle pretty much right out the muffler. Can't use the stock hanger because its seized. Need some ideas.
Old 01-28-2016, 09:50 AM

Received 83 Likes on 69 Posts

I am by no means an expert but I re-routed mine too but not as quick and short as yours. I literally used a cheap pep boys hanger that was some weird combo of metal bracket with holes and some sort of heat resistant material and I believe it came with an exhaust clamp too. It pivots, so what I did was twist the metal part with the holes and attached it right to my frame. I think I tried to self tap a larger screw through one of my frame holes but ended up welding it right to my frame. it worked because it had some play to make it fit. Looks ok and I suck at welding but its a quick fix and its been on for almost a yr with no problems
Old 01-28-2016, 04:30 PM

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

It doesn't show the whole hanger, but you can see most it in this video. I don't have any pictures of it. The top just uses a long 1/4"-20 bolt through one of the stock rubber pieces from the hanger. I bought the adjustable hanger from O'Reilly.

Old 01-28-2016, 05:50 PM

Received 48 Likes on 42 Posts

Originally Posted by Tommy J