Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

exaust heat,can it melt anything under my truck

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2010, 03:47 AM
VanoFord2

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default exaust heat,can it melt anything under my truck

So OK,i had my cat back duals put on about a year ago.The place i took it to,midas,i think in my opinion could have welded the tips on better(maybe cause i am welder by trade,lol)Also could have hung both pipes even and to me the sound was kinda week(super 44's),So yesterday i said screw it I'm gonna hack the tips off cause i was getting tires of looking at them and how other ppl would see how uneven they are.So took my trusty saw saw and hacked the tips off.To me it sounds better with a deeper tone.Now my question is,both of my pipes now are under the bed of the truck.Can the heat from the exhaust cause anything to melt?I'm curious?or will it be fine?I ask because of course most exhaust tips our routed out from under the truck.
Old 01-20-2010, 04:12 AM
Meaner than Ymeski

Received 819 Likes on 468 Posts

nope... alot people people run there exhoust like that..as long as its not touching or blowing onto a piece of plastic or rubber....ive seen alot of trucks that they got pised at there tips and they jsut cut them off.....hell i run my blazer bb chevy with headers and 18inchs of 3inch pipe...and it damn neer blows right on the transmission and transfercase
Old 01-20-2010, 07:58 AM
Moderator (Ret.)

Received 474 Likes on 374 Posts

Originally Posted by bobkyle2
nope... alot people people run there exhoust like that..as long as its not touching or blowing onto a piece of plastic or rubber....ive seen alot of trucks that they got pised at there tips and they jsut cut them off.....hell i run my blazer bb chevy with headers and 18inchs of 3inch pipe...and it damn neer blows right on the transmission and transfercase