Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Electrical Gremlins in 05 Lariat!

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2015, 12:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Electrical Gremlins in 05 Lariat!

To start off I have followed the forums for a long time but this is my first time making a post, curious if anyone else has experienced similar issues with their truck.

To introduce the truck, she is a 2005 Lariat, 5.4 V8 with 340,000 kilometres on her still driving strong. Super Crew, 5.5 box & black on tan interior.

This scenario started about a week ago. Up here in Ontario we had a warm sunny day so she got a good wash. Night came and the temperature dropped, I was out for a night drive when out of nowhere the horn started honking intermittently. Pulled in to an empty parking lot and the horn turned to a deeper pitch and burned itself out. I get home and none of the interior lights/3rd brake light will turn off. No matter what position the light switch and dimmer are in, they were on. Had to disconnect battery at night, re-connect in the morning, disconnect at work, reconnect for the drive home. Two days of this and all of a sudden the interior lights/3rd brake light finally turn off.

The next day, my headlights, tailights, gauge cluster, interior lights, windows and radio will not turn on whatsoever. I have had to drive gauging speed on the flow of traffic for the past few days, and any night driving is out of the picture. Basically all I have left that is working is the A/C, heated seats, turn signals and reverse lights. Truck starts up completely fine first crank every time and drives normal. I'm confident this is purely an electrical issue but have no idea where to start looking.