Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Dvd Wiring

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2012, 09:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dvd Wiring

Hi I was just wondering if anyone knows how to wire an overhead DVD player. I just got an oem DVD player and I'm not sure how to hook it up and I'm not that good at wiring I was just seeing if anyone has went and hooked one up before. Also I was wondering about using it with the truck off. The girlfriend wants to watch DVDs in the back but I don't want to do that if I'm risking the truck not starting when the movies over. Thanks plowman.
Old 08-28-2012, 12:17 PM
Moderator (Ret.)

Received 474 Likes on 374 Posts

Is this the Ford DVD player that connects to the factory overhead rail system?
Old 08-29-2012, 09:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Yes it is the overhead DVD player.
Old 08-29-2012, 09:51 AM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

I just installed an aftermarket flip down monitor yesterday I'm not sure about the factory DVD monitor but I wired mine into where the dome light was... black wire in the dome light is ground, the wire with the blue stripe is for the door trigger(12v when the doors are open) and the wire with the green stripe is 12v hot all the time.

My monitor had 4 wires... ground, door trigger, 12v constant, and 12v ignition. I also wanted to use the monitor when the truck was off so i just tied both the 12v constant and the ignition wire to the wire with the green stripe in the dome light, then wired the ground to ground and door trigger to door trigger. Oh yea... a full movie with the truck off will probably drain ur battery... I wired mine like that so my kid can keep his entertainment while the truck is off for short periods (getting gas, stopping at sonic, etc.)
Hope this helps

Last edited by J. Clementi; 08-29-2012 at 09:55 AM.
The following users liked this post:
atxval (08-29-2012)
Old 08-29-2012, 10:26 AM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

subscribed