Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Considering an F150 but concerned

Old 08-06-2013, 09:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Considering an F150 but concerned

I'm in the market for a truck after finally paying off my Jeep last week. I'm pre approved for $20K from my credit union (what I asked for) and would like to find a 2004 or newer F150 Supercrew 4x4. I'm not much on surprises so I've been reading threads on the forum for a couple of days now and it's got me a little concerned. How prevalent are the dieseling and spark plug isuues? I prefer to do as much work as I can but I'm no mechanic and while I'm pretty sure I could handle removing broken plugs, the dieseling repairs look a bit intimidating.

I'm looking at an 07 with 57K miles on it now. It appears to be in good shape and the price is decent. I'm hoping to go take a look at it tomorrow. Is there any way to predict if it'll have the dieseling issue? I can't take tools with me and pull a plug but if I were to buy it I'd try to change them ASAP to reduce the likelihood of an issue there.

Just not sure what to think at this point. Any advice? Would I be better off trying to buy a 2009 & newer? I was trying to keep my payment the same as what I had on my Jeep, I've got a son going to Purdue so I don't have a lot of extra money at the moment.
Old 08-06-2013, 01:41 PM

Received 68 Likes on 61 Posts