Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2004 - 2008 Ford F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2007, 07:28 PM   #1
Junior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St. Paul Park, MN
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thumbs down Can't find a Gound/Hot wire

I was putting a remote starter kit in my 2004 (new body style) F-150 and I got it all wired up but the tach wire. Which I later found out is not to be connected as a tach wire should be (AC to an alternator or injector wire)
This remote starter asked for....
"Battery charging indicator wire or engine oil pressure indicator wire (the polarity of this wire is Negative before engine start and positive after engine started)

I CAN'T FIND ONE!!! I tried just grounding the wire and the remote starter starts it up but then shuts it down. Without the wire grounded it does Nothing.

Please Help Any Ideas?
sarde1090 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 08:44 PM   #2
Ty
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minocqua Wi
Posts: 6,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

hook it up to what it asks for....
Ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 09:41 PM   #3
NGM
Resident A-hole
5 Year Member
 
NGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to NGM
Default

Yup. X2
__________________
SCT Tuner - 400.00
Jaws Racing Tunes - 150.00
Beating the wifes new GM truck - Priceless
http://www.jawsracing.net/
NGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 10:55 PM   #4
08 February TOTM
5 Year Member
 
whitecrystal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dumfries, VA Member: #77
Posts: 3,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

When it shuts down does it restart itself back up, or does it just not run? What remote starter system do you have? With the Viper 791xv in my 05 it would start and sometimes shut down and restart itself. I had a shop do my install so I took it back and showed it to them. They had to adjust the voltage setting on the unit.
__________________
.
whitecrystal1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 12:14 AM   #5
Ty
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minocqua Wi
Posts: 6,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

he is saying that he needs to find a wire that swiches from ground to hot when the motor is running.

you need to attach it to hook it to the charge indicator wire or the oil preasure indicator, like the instructions ask you.
Ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 01:44 PM   #6
Junior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St. Paul Park, MN
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

My problem is I can't find those wires (charge/oil press) I tried one of the wires off the alternator but its neutral before and hot after start and with that wire the starter mod sees it as the motor is already running and doesn't start the engine. I have not been able to find and oil press sender. Do you know where I could find it?
sarde1090 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 01:51 PM   #7
08 February TOTM
5 Year Member
 
whitecrystal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dumfries, VA Member: #77
Posts: 3,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I got the oem shop manuals for my 05, give me some time and I'll see if I can help. I'm having internet issues so it might take a little while or not. So basically you need the location on the oil sending unit and what the wire are (color wise)?
__________________
.
whitecrystal1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 01:56 PM   #8
Junior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St. Paul Park, MN
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I regret buying the kind it’s called a Motiontek MT-8000R two-way page I have not been able to contact the guy I bought it from on EBay and this brand is unheard of on the web or anywhere else so far. But to answer your other question. It does start the engine it runs for a moment and then shuts down. It does this three time and then stops. It does this because I currently have the wire grounded to make sure the system works.
sarde1090 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 01:57 PM   #9
Junior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St. Paul Park, MN
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

yes please, i hoping that it is ground switched hot
sarde1090 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2007, 11:36 PM   #10
08 February TOTM
5 Year Member
 
whitecrystal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dumfries, VA Member: #77
Posts: 3,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Found it, The oil pressure switch is feed with a white/red wire from the instrument cluster. This does go to ground btw so this is the wire you need.
From what I see it's terminal #26 on the cluster. So I think you should be able to connect your wire at the cluster. I'll see if I can get the wife to scan this at work and I'll email you the wiring diagram for this. What engine do you have? I'll need you email to send this.
__________________
.
whitecrystal1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2007, 11:36 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Did you Find Us? Lenn Introductions 1587 09-17-2014 05:14 PM
Still Can't Find MISFIRE!!! metalvolks Engine / Drivetrain Talk 15 06-24-2014 11:00 AM
How did you find us? Jon Introductions 9 01-23-2012 08:05 PM
where can I find... jonathan 1987 - 1996 F150 11 08-03-2008 10:32 PM
Where can I find? Josh 1987 - 1996 F150 8 02-11-2008 04:25 PM

Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.