Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

A/C blows hot when idling

Old 07-28-2015, 03:49 PM
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default A/C blows hot when idling

'06 STX 4.6L

Just bought this truck and I'm pretty unfamiliar with how all the systems work.

A/C blows OK when going down the road. It should probably be colder even at highway speeds. But when stopped at a light it blows hot air. I can rev it up at idle and it gets cooler.

I took it to a shop and they tried to run an A/C analysis on it and said they couldn't get several signals that they need to run the analysis. They suggested an electrical shop that could find the faulty wiring preventing the signals.

I will confess, I'm not an expert on cars, especially the newer ones, however, I fail to see how a wiring issue could cause this. My best guess would lean towards a compressor clutch going bad maybe (not turning fast enough at idle).

The truck also has the brake warning light on all the time even though there aren't any issues with the truck. I think that led them to just assume it has many wiring issues causing all the problems.

Any thoughts, suggestions? Thanks in advance!
The following users liked this post:
Bryan Duarte (07-29-2015)
Old 07-28-2015, 06:33 PM

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts

Sounded like your engine fan's clutch is not engaging, time for new clutch or you can go with 2010 F150 electric fan conversion.
I did and very happy with it. It is a little costly though.
The following users liked this post:
Bryan Duarte (07-29-2015)
Old 07-28-2015, 08:10 PM
Rookie

Ouch! That's Pricey.

I'll look into the fan clutch. Wouldn't the engine run hot in that case? Water temps are fine.
Old 07-28-2015, 10:39 PM

Originally Posted by B_Stewart
Ouch! That's Pricey.

I'll look into the fan clutch. Wouldn't the engine run hot in that case? Water temps are fine.