Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.
View Poll Results: buy it or keep looking
roll the dice 🎲
14.29%
keep on trucking and find another F150
85.71%
Voters: 7. You may not vote on this poll

to buy or not to buy

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2016, 12:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default to buy or not to buy

Hi gang, newbie here. I recently sold my heater 95 F150 cause a guy offered me more than I thought I could sell it for. I need s replacement on a limited budget. $7000 is about where I need to be. I have been looking at 04 and newer f150's . I found several, but one in particular had me interested. I drove it and it was pretty good for 133k. Body is very nice with no rust and only minor scuffs. Interior was really good except for the work edge of the drivers seat where one scoot their butt across it. Pretty normal for the year and mileage. My issue, was when the engine warmed and I stopped to check out out with engine running,I heard a loud knock in the engine. Appears to be coming from the front of the right(as you sit behind wheel)valve cover. My research into the 5.4 leads me to believe it suffers from the now famous cam phaser knock. I walked away, despite the salesman telling me he would fix the problem. Talking to him today, I don't think they are going to fix it as a part of the deal. However,I am mechanically inclined and it is an involved repair, but not something I would shy away from if I already owned the truck. I guess I just want to know what you guys and gals think. It also needs front brakes as it had a lot of pulsing in the rotors. So would you beat the guy up and try to get him to really discount it and make your own repairs or just move on down the road.
Old 06-10-2016, 12:50 PM

Received 1,137 Likes on 820 Posts