Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Brake Pads and Rotors for XLT 4x4

Old 02-08-2010, 02:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake Pads and Rotors for XLT 4x4

Let me start off by saying I am by no means a mechanic. However, I'd like to tackle changing the brake rotors and pads on my truck. I happened to run into a Ford master mechanic at my buddy's super bowl party yesterday and the advice he gave me was to go with just a standard set of rotors, and a middle of the road set of pads. I'm trying to determine what I should get (O'Reilly seems to have the best selection in my area). Any suggestions on what to avoid on Brake Pads? My stock brake pads have always left a residue on my rims which look bad and I want to buy new pads that won't allow that. But, I don't need "performance" pads (or Rotors) either. Below are a few options I've been looking at. I'm a little worried about the price jump between the cheapest and the second cheapest set of rotors (goes from $50.99 to $107.99). Any help would be much appreciated!

Rotors:
$50.99
$107.99

Brake Pads:
$18.99 per set
$34.99 per set
$43.99 per set
$49.99 per set
Old 02-08-2010, 03:03 PM

Received 147 Likes on 78 Posts

Rockauto.com has a bigger selection on the rotors. You can get the OEM rotors for cheaper than those Wagners.

That said, I've never had a problem with the cheap brakebest rotors on my other trucks.

I've heard a lot of good things about Hawk pads.
Old 02-08-2010, 03:07 PM

I did mine last fall. As I remember the front rotors were about $85 each for better quality rotors.... my total was $345 tax and all from advanced auto parts.

the residue thing on the front rotors is tuff to get away from no matter what pads you put on.