Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Block Heater question...

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2012, 05:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Block Heater question...

hey guys

so i just found a plug for what i think is a block heater in my front bumper. it is getting COLD and i was gonna buy a car starter, but then the one i want is gonna cost me like $700 all said and done. and i already have an alarm so it didnt make sense to me. so luckily for me my truck has a block heater.

it is POURING outside now so i dont want to play around with it, so i was hoping you guys could give me a few pointers...

when it plug it in, how do i know it is actually working??? and is it okay to have it plugged in from say, evening time, until the next morning???

i am a newb to block heaters, the only thing i know about them, is their name and MAIN function haha!!! so will it be the same as having my truck running for ten minutes? minus the fuel wasting...

thanks guys
Old 11-11-2012, 06:38 PM

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Also wondering the same. I know a lot of people are gunna say get an oil pan heater. But I don't want to spend the extra money, and make due with what I have.
Old 11-11-2012, 06:56 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Personally myself, Its kind of hit or miss telling if its functioning without a tester, sometimes you can hear a low hum, like baseboards or something would make. I personally can't tell that way, so I bought a tester, it plugs in, inline with your block heater cord, it has two lights on it, one indicating your outlet is functioning and one indicating the block heater is working. Mine was about $15 bucks. I would expect an american (because goods are cheaper there) would pay $8. You can also use a continuity tester on a meter if you're so inclined/talented.