Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

big question

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2008, 03:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool big question

so..I take my truck to ..whatever you want to call it - ProLube..or where ever you go to get your oil changed. I don't do it myself. My question is... should I? I have no knowledge about oil or oil filters. I mean... don't get me wrong - I think I can figure out how to change the oil.

is there a difference between the oil these ProLubes use and the ones on the shelf at Wal-Mart, Auto Zone...or wherever you go? should I be paying more attention to what kind of oil goes in? I've just had the attitude towards oil: it's oil, I take it and they put in whatever they put in, then I drive off. is there more to that? should I start buying my own oil and changing it myself? should I not use the oil they use and use a certain kind?

what's your take on this? what oil should I use? if you change your own oil, why? what kind of oil do you use and again, why? THANKS!
Old 04-15-2008, 04:20 PM

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

Default Big Question

With out hesitation, use the oil grade that is called out by the manufacturer. Pay attention to the numbers (weight) and the letters (oil type). Once your decision is made, stay with it. Don't change brands every oil change. I personally change my own oil as it gives me a good look see around the engine compartment. I have three different trucks and all use a different oil. All Fords but different years, tollerances, matterial or what ever. Trust yourself to do the job right not someone else. And remember tools make the difference.
Old 04-15-2008, 05:25 PM
none.

Received 97 Likes on 78 Posts

just go to the dealership if you arent sure.
Old 04-15-2008, 08:13 PM