Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Best Gear Ratio for Mixed Use

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2016, 08:44 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Best Gear Ratio for Mixed Use

Hey Folks,

I'm in need of a rear end. Given my budget and timeline, a good salvage unit should fit the bill.

I have a 2004 5.4L Lariat RWD with an H9 (9.75" 3.55) -and- am about to purchase a 7200lb Airstream for occasional use (5-10K miles per year). Since I have no experience towing heavy loads with this vehicle, I'm not in a position to complain about its current attributes.

Question is: Do I take this opportunity to go to a "better" rear end? What are some of the drawbacks and advantages?

Truck is mostly used around town, weekly highway use, said occasional towing. Stock tire size.

TIA!
Old 08-26-2016, 10:26 PM

Received 280 Likes on 196 Posts

I'd personally recommend a 3.73 ratio. I routinely tow 3-4 thousand pounds. I think this ratio would be best. I can get decent mileage if I drive near the speed limit.
The following users liked this post:
mijotu (08-26-2016)
Old 08-26-2016, 10:48 PM

Originally Posted by srb1194
I'd personally recommend a 3.73 ratio. I routinely tow 3-4 thousand pounds. I think this ratio would be best. I can get decent mileage if I drive near the speed limit.
Thanks, srb1194!

Forgive me for asking, but maybe you can tell me: How does 3.73 compare to mine (3.55) as far as drivability, mileage, etc., both with trailer and without? What am I gaining, and what am I giving up? I don't doubt you at all — I simply have no experience with gear ratios in F150s, and you've lived it!

Thanks again,
mijotu
Old 08-26-2016, 11:26 PM

Received 280 Likes on 196 Posts

http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/sh...8#post16441748