Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Another Question on a lift

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2009, 02:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another Question on a lift

I'm new to the truck world. I've own imports and Jeeps.... My question is if I go with a 6inch lift do I have to re-gear it? I have a F150 4x2 5.4 lar. I have re-geared my Jeeps an I really don't want to go down that path. Should I just go with a 4inch lift? Thanks for your help Also what is a est. on the price of lift and install? thanks again
Old 03-15-2009, 04:43 PM
Combat Trucker

personally, i would sell the 4x2 and get something thats 4 wheel drive. why lift a 2 wheel drive truck???
Old 03-15-2009, 04:56 PM

Received 109 Likes on 89 Posts

i slightly agree with rainman... but only his first part.... but, if you have no use for a 4x4, then stick with your 2wd..... it will look just as good lifted as a 4x4.

as for your question, no, you wont "have" to re-gear..... you might think it would be nice, but not needed. im running 35's with the 3.55, and i think it does fine....afterall, im not driving a drag car.

as for price on lift, it all depends on whether you go with a "spacer" style, of a full swapover of the front coils. you can spend anywhere from ~1100 - ~2400 for the most common lifts (6"). now, if you go with an 8" or higher, then you can really empty your wallet fast. if you go higher than a 6", then you will want to go with 37's or larger.

install price on average runs 500-800. (i installed myself, but that comes from other forum members)

if you really want to do a lift, then i say just do it.... and see how you like the performance with the stock gears.... and if you feel you need to re-gear, you can always do it afterwards.
Old 03-15-2009, 05:54 PM
Inaugural TOTM

Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts