after market tach 08 f150 - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



after market tach 08 f150

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-10-2010, 01:19 PM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation after market tach 08 f150

Hi, i am trying to install a sunpro tach into my 08 f150 xl v6 4.2l the original cluster does not have a tachometer in it. i am having trouble finding the correct wire to splice into to give me a rpm reading. I tried a wire that gave a negative reading off the coil pack i had feed back but it was fairly unresponsive. Has anyone tried this before or have any insight as to which wire i can splice to get my rpm reading? Any information would be greatly appreciated im at a standstill on this project at the moment
tbrooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 01:39 PM   #2
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
StonedGreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 583
Thanked 65 Times in 49 Posts
Default

try to find an xlt cluster with tach on it...i heard its fairly easy to do
StonedGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 12:41 PM   #3
Junior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 27
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Check further in this forum for the Aftermarket tach question thread... I just installed a Sunpro tach in my '05 STX with the 4.6 V-8, and you'll find all the info in the thread... I had to purchase an Autometer tach adapter #9117 ($75.00 from Summit). This sets up the correct signal for COP and DIS ignition systems. Once installed, it was a no brainer, and the tach works great.

http://www.f150forum.com/f4/aftermar...rermarket+tach

Last edited by Steve 39; 12-11-2010 at 12:45 PM. Reason: more info
Steve 39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 03:09 PM   #4
U.S. Army Fittsy
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: FT. Campbell
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you can use a injector wire or COP wire do not use the red wire on the COP's or fuel injector i just had the issue of finding a tach signal wire for my remote start system...hope this helps
FittsyF150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 06:26 PM   #5
Moderator
5 Year Member
 
Bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lake Mary Florida
Posts: 9,139
Thanked 388 Times in 304 Posts
Default

After the purchase of the tach and tach adaptor, you would be money ahead in buying a cluster from an XLT or STX with the tach included. Only the mileage would require reflashing if you wanted it to match.
Bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad in dash mounts Bushell4 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 5 09-16-2016 12:50 AM
2015 or Wait for 2016 blackout44 General F150 Discussion 17 02-28-2016 03:45 AM
Fix for gauge light battery drain please! Chile 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 16 12-22-2015 01:05 PM
Roof rack Sgt3419 Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation 0 09-05-2015 04:11 PM
IPAD in dash mounts Bushell4 General F150 Discussion 0 09-03-2015 04:16 PM


Tags
2008, f150, install, sunpro, tach

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com