Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

About to buy.. Need some advice..

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2009, 03:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default About to buy.. Need some advice..

Hey everyone,
I am new to pick-ups but have been doing a lot of reading on the diff. options out there. I went and test-drove a 2005 supercab FX4 and a 2004 supercrew Lariat. After driving, I decided this is the truck I want. I have been reading a few reviews and it seems like the few cons/problems are as follows:

A knocking or clicking sound in the engine.

Transmission issues.

Sluggish acceleration (I noticed this a little but just accepted that its a truck).

I work in construction in the city and need a pick-up from time to time. Does anyone feel that these are legitimate cons/problems? And overall, if you could do it again, would you pick an F-150 or go with another truck.. I really appreciate any advice!
Old 08-23-2009, 04:29 PM

I've only had mine for about 1 month 1/2 now and LOVE IT. Its a 06 Lariat Super Crew. I've had over 15 cars, but never a truck so its my first experience with one. So far its great. I purchased the extended Ford Premium Care which covers all. They have options for 1yr to 4 yrs, i went with the 3 year. Its a nice piece of mind to have in my opinion.

I know this is not much help LOL

Good luck with your decision

Project-
Old 08-23-2009, 04:32 PM

Received 50 Likes on 46 Posts

ive never heard of tranny problems, the ticking is the cam phaser that will be fine, sometimes different oil makes it go away, the biggest problem is the spark plugs get the dealer your buyin from to change them to the new one piece design by ford and you should be good to go!
Old 08-23-2009, 05:43 PM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

overall good trucks, but like all trucks, some will have issues of some sort
-5.4 have the spark plug issue