Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2004 - 2008 Ford F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Garage Photos FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read StoreVendor Directory

Welcome to F150 Forum!
Welcome to F150 Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2009, 10:38 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default 5.4L Fail Safe Mode

3 times in the last 6 months my engine went into fail safe mode for no apparent reason. Each time, I pulled over, shut the engine down and restarted it. No problem thereafter. Anyone have the same problem, and, if so, what is the cause?
formakos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 01:43 PM   #2
Moderator
5 Year Member
 
Bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orlando, Florida and Dallas, Texas
Posts: 6,630
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 68 Times in 56 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Are you getting a trouble code? If so, what is it?

Fail safe or "limp home mode" is usually because of a significant sensor failure (I.E. MAF, low fuel pressure, etc.). There should be a code stored.
__________________
Give an answer, they learn for the day; suggest a search, they learn for a lifetime.

2005 F150 STX Regular Cab (4.2 liter V6)
Bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 08:09 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I'll put the Actron on it tomorrow and see if it has any stored codes. Thanks for bringing that up. It scares me to have this intermittent problem because if it occurred during a close quarters pass, it could be quite interesting!!!!!!
formakos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 01:06 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Put the Actron CP9125 tester on the truck today and it showed 0 codes!!!! Anyone have another suggestion? Thanks.
formakos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 06:01 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Next time it happened, I left the truck running and put the Actron on it. Got 3 codes and gave them to my dealer. They said I needed a new throttle body. That has been done so i shall see if the problem is solved.
formakos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 02:11 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NOVA SCOTIA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

hi my 04 screw went in to fail safe mode as well then the low oil pressure displayed on the screen. i drove it about 10miles home and it used almost a half a tank of gas, does any one no what could be the problem. getting codes read tomorrow. thanks valleyboy

as ive been reading other threads ive noticed bucko is quite knowlegable on this topic.
valleyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 11:36 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

A coworker of mine owns a 2005 5.4 that had this issue, I have this issue with my 5.4L. This morning in 4F weather, truck stalled twice on me, wrench light came on first time, check engine the second. Sounds like if it happens twice with in a 15 minute span, throws the check engine light codes. Turns out that he went in and cleaned the throttle plate and the issue went away. I just did that, I will see how it goes on my drive home today. Sounds like it should work.
mwkipf055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 11:52 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by formakos View Post
Next time it happened, I left the truck running and put the Actron on it. Got 3 codes and gave them to my dealer. They said I needed a new throttle body. That has been done so i shall see if the problem is solved.
Drive by wire gets another victim. Sad thing is, everything is drive by wire now. I thinks it's a dangerous design. What if someone is entering a freeway and the thing goes into idle and won't accelerate?

Mechanical begets electrical sometimes.....
JJ1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 10:45 PM   #9
BLOWN club #1
 
kalealmighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Diego,Ca
Posts: 1,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to kalealmighty
Default

reset the comp

1. disconnect the neg battery lead.
2. tap the brake pedal(to drain any power in the system by lighting up brake lights)
3. wait 30 sec. or whatever long..
4. re connect the battery..

tthat should do it
__________________
My lugs require more torque than your ricer can make.


ROUSHCharged

kalealmighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 08:46 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Update: After cleaning the throttle plate friday lunch time, the truck has not stalled out into failsafe mode at all. This morning it was 7 F here in Detroit...had I not cleaned the plate...would have stalled. Seems as though this may work...

I also talked with a few others over the weekend who go in and clean their throttle plates every oil change or every 30K miles are so...
mwkipf055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 08:46 AM
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Fail Safe / Low Oil Preasure WTF? KCAP 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 12 01-02-2013 10:40 AM
engine safe mode gusgus36 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 7 08-17-2010 09:46 AM
fail safe mode bodienkristi 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 1 08-20-2009 11:29 AM
fail safe mode bodienkristi General F150 Discussion 0 08-20-2009 11:22 AM
Fail Safe Mode two '05's 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 1 10-13-2007 07:07 PM

 

The Mustang Source

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2
Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.


Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.