Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

4x4 low question

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2011, 02:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 4x4 low question

My wife never drives my 2007 f150 but yesterday she did. I got in it this morning and drove to work (about 5 miles) and when I got to work I noticed that the truck was in 4WL. I didn't notice any hesitation when I left and I was up to around 70 on the highway during that time. I'm wondering if she went to turn the heat on yesterday and instead put it in 4WL by accident.

I'm not clear from the manual if the truck doesn't operate in low if it goes over 3mph or if it just won't engage if you're going over 3mph? I'm afraid that my 4 wheel drive is trashed but I don't know and I'm not a mechanic so I don't know what to check or if there is something I can check. Does anyone know if it's made so that if you go over 3mph it gets out of 4WL into 2WD? Thanks.
Old 11-22-2011, 02:48 PM

Wow..... that's brutal. As far as I understand you have to be in neutral to even put the F150 in 4WL, so you should be good there. F150's won't even allow 2WD to 4WL on the fly like you can from 2WD to 4WH(which should only be done at speeds below 35mph). That being said, had your wife actually got it into 4WL she would have definately known it and you would have probably gotten a frantic call. You should be fine. I have always been told there is never a reason you should put your truck into 4WL as it will trash your transmission fast if you don't know what you are doing. Best of luck, and for goodness sake-keep your wife away from your truck!

As far as checking things, heavy clunking noises or failure to engage from 2WD to 4WH is a good indication it may need to be checked out by a mechanic. If everthing feels good and you dont have trouble with your turning radius, you should be good to go.

Chris

Last edited by Justice5150_99; 11-22-2011 at 02:52 PM.
Old 11-22-2011, 02:52 PM