Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

2004 ford f150 5.4

Old 03-24-2012, 08:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 ford f150 5.4

I could certainly use some help on this one please . I have been toying with and repairing my own vehicles for many years but just recently purchased a 2004 fi50 4x4 with a 5.4 engine . The owner sold it to me and told me the engine was seized and the vehicle hadnt run for a couple of months . I purchased it with the thought of replacing the engine but after parking in my shop and charging the battery the truck turned over and attempted to fire up . The truck acted as if it were flooded and by holding the throttle to the floor , it did run , but only for a few seconds and I had no throttle response at all . I decided to change the spark plugs and change the oil . Those plugs are something else but I removed seven with not too much effort and cracked the fourth . Asked my handy Napa friends about this and they advised me of the kit to remove the broken one . That kit is a must have with those plugs.
Truck fired up right away but still ran a few seconds and shut off , again no throttle resonse .I discovered that by using the oxygen from my torch and forcing air into the air cleaner , the engine would keep running , but still no throttle . The only code that showed was for cam sensor and I replaced both . Still same problem . If I let it sit for a few hours it will start and run for a few seconds , otherwise it still acts as if flooded .There is no engine noise , ticking , clicking , etc while canking or running and no more codes showing on the OTC Gennisis Scanner . Please help . I must be missing something on this one . Thanx in advance .
Old 03-24-2012, 08:52 PM
s_vares

Received 430 Likes on 84 Posts

When you press the throttle does the plate open?

check the timing with your scanner
Old 03-24-2012, 09:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts