07 Need a instrument cluster will I have to have it programmed? - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2004 - 2008 Ford F150
Log In 


07 Need a instrument cluster will I have to have it programmed?

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2014, 03:23 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default 07 Need a instrument cluster will I have to have it programmed?

My instrument cluster is going in and out on me. It was just the display for the mileage but now when it acts up all my gauges go hey wire.

I have checked and cleaned the the 2 main connections and they both are firmly in place.

I noticed when my cluster messes up the A/C will quit blowing cold, it still blows just not cold and if I completely disconnect the cluster the A/C will do the same thing. And after some research that is common when the clusters go bad.

My question is if I get one from a salvage yard will it have to be programmed to my truck to work and display the actual miles I have on it? Or is it just plug and play if the part numbers match up?

Thanks!!!
bigcountry25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join F150 Forum

Join F150Forum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you a Ford F150 fan? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Ford F150 Fans to meet online.
Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your truck, and have a great time with other Ford F150 fans. Whether your an old timer or just bought your F150 you'll find that F150Forum.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join F150Forum.com Today! - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


-->
Old 08-24-2014, 09:21 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Dembruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: ORANGE CITY
Posts: 115
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

It will hold the mileage from the doner truck. Good luck trying to find a dealership that will flash the correct mileage, I could not find one to progam my odom. There are a few companys that will do it if you send them the new cluster and sign a waiver. I ended up getting a cluster that was close to my original miles.
Dembruski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 09:21 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.