Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

04 5.4l eating power steering pumps

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2016, 12:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 04 5.4l eating power steering pumps

Hi there,
I'm new to this fours but have used it many times to help solve issues with my truck, but for the first time I think I need some help with my issue in particular.

I have an 04 f150 5.4 2wd and I've just burnt up my 7th power steering pump. I have a level in the front and 32 in trail grapplers. I've figured there has been a bigger issue with the steering but unable to determine it I've just been replacing The pumps As they go out but recently they have started lasting about 2 months.

I took the tires off and checked the tie rods they both seem fine. The steering shaft is fine going into the rack and pinion. So my thoughts are that there must be something up in the rack.

Does anyone have any experience with this issue? How difficult is it to replace the rack and pinion? Maybe I'm just missing something obvious?

Thanks for yallls help,
Nathan
Old 01-22-2016, 12:18 PM
Some guy

Received 2,022 Likes on 1,284 Posts

GET THE HELL OUT

Just kidding the last time I burnt up a pump, I switched to a reman AC Delco with a new pulley and flushed everything and all went well. I wonder if your system is having undue stress, like lots of steering without you moving or maybe your tie rods might be seized? Jack up the front, pull the tires off and cycle the wheel back and forth with the engine running. Listen for any noises, feel for any binding. I'd probably also pull the outer tie rod ends out of the steering knuckle and see if I can move them easily within their ball joint with just my hand and no real force. If they're really stuck, examine your tie rod boots and really consider changing both them and your inner tie rod ends at a minimum (if it were me I'd do the entire rod).
Old 01-22-2016, 12:24 PM
Some guy