Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tire Presure Monitoring System

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2009, 09:45 PM
sig

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tire Presure Monitoring System

I was wanting to know exactly how the TPMS works. At what pressure is it supposed to alert you and what are all the variations that the system will recognize. Like one tire can go down x psi or all tires have to go down x psi, etc.
Old 09-28-2009, 09:33 AM

Received 222 Likes on 151 Posts

Don't count on this as 'gospel' because I'm not a Ford mechanic, but in talking with a tire dealer, he said most systems are programmed to alert when the pressure sensor(s) detect a pressure 10% lower/higher than the factory specified pressure (presumably the pressure listed on the decal on the driver's door post). Since each tire has it's own sensor, the alert could be based on one or multiple wheel pressures being out of range.
Old 09-28-2009, 01:03 PM
gmm

The Ford dealer that I bought my new truck from last week said that it only takes about a 1 Lb. drop in air pressure to set the sensor alarm system off on any of the four tires. He said this has been the most complains that new truck buyers have told him about.
Old 09-28-2009, 10:51 PM
sig

Well I was asking because I tested it the other day and I deflated my driver side rear tire to 20psi before the light came on. I keep my pressure at 40psi all the way around. I wanted to know for sure if that was a problem before I took it in to the dealership for them to look at.

I did not try to drop all the tiers at the same time to see the result on that.
Old 09-29-2009, 09:56 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by sig